top of page

Visualizing costumes: 1.Gathering materials


As usual I have to many ideas for costumes and choreographies.. When I hear a piece of music I tend to visualize certain colors and styles as well as movements and notions. I trie not to make a new costume for every new choreography, but must admit that I would have if I could.

But it isn't only music that inspire my dance fashion. Many ideas come along when I see a certain fabric. Now there's 3 such projects waiting to be realized. I have collected the main material as you see below. But how to decide which to make first? A zesty bedla in green and black with hints of yellow topaz? A ghalabeya in red and montana blue? Or a dreamy extravagant creation in transparent sky blue and silver, scattered with delicate pink flowers? If I make sketches upfront I rearely end up following them, but maybe I'll go for it now to better see what tempts the most. Decisions decisions.. How do you decide to embark on new costume projects? And what is your first step from idea to making?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2013 by aurora orientalsk dans

bottom of page